DWI / DUI
Did You Know?
You have 15 days from the day you were arrested to request a hearing to prevent your license from being suspended.
Know Your Rights:
If you have been charged with a DWI/DUI in the state of Texas, it is important to understand your legal rights.  Under Texas state law, when arrested for driving while intoxicated or driving under the influence, you have the right to the following:
- You have the right to refuse the breath test.
- You have the right to refuse to tell the officer what or if you have been drinking.
- You have the right to refuse to tell the officer where you are coming from or going to.
- You have the right to refuse a breath or blood test after you have been stopped or arrested for DWI/DUI (although refusing the test may result in the suspension of your license for 180 days).
- You have the right to refuse any type of field sobriety test.
- You have the right to remain silent until your DWI attorney is present.
Remember that everything you say and do before or after you have been arrested can be used against you in a court of law.  Asserting your rights may result in a DWI/DUI conviction.  However, not exercising your rights may result in a DWI or DUI arrest.  Asserting your rights may make a positive difference in the outcome of your case.
San Antonio DWI attorney Orlando Castañon has almost 10 years of criminal law experience in defending DWI/DUI cases and offers a consultation by appointment regarding your DWI, to discuss your particular case.  If you choose to exercise your rights as listed above, you will likely provide yourself and your attorney with a much stronger defense to win your DWI/DUI case when you go to court.  DWI lawyer Orlando Castañon may be able to defend you in court and provide you with a rock solid case to obtain the best outcome possible.
Meetings by Scheduled Appointments. Call Us Today (210) 731-0820